Confederate Flag for the Cruise in Colorado

Remember when we didn’t see any Confederate flags in Colorado? Well some one did, and wrote to the Longmont paper to complain:

Confederate flag

I was a teenager in Longmont in the 1960s and was part of the group that dragged Main (Street) back then. I went to the classic car show (Saturday) night on Main Street, and I was very disappointed when I saw a Confederate flag being flown on a pickup truck. I left after that, I was so sick. A Union soldier statue is in our cemetery. This is the West. Get with it. Southern prejudice and racism is not welcome here.

A couple thoughts:

  • This anecdote is consistent with our theory that the flag is more common outside the South than it used to be.
  • It also shows a rare bit of explicit West vs. South antagonism.

Leave a comment